Chronic diseases fact sheet

About NCDs

Non-communicable diseases (NCDs), also known as chronic diseases, are not passed from person to person and are of long duration and generally of slow progression. The five main types of NCDs are cardiovascular diseases (e.g. heart attacks and stroke), certain cancers, chronic respiratory diseases (e.g. chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and asthma), type 2 diabetes, and mental disorders.

The NCDs are: lung diseases, cancer, mental disorders, type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular diseases.
The five main types of NCDs.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO):

  • NCDs account for 63% of all deaths (36 million out of 57 million global deaths)
  • 80% of NCDs deaths occur in low- and middle-income countries
  • Globally, the NCD burden will increase by 17% in the next ten years, and in Africa by 27%
  • NCDs affect all ages – nearly 43 million children under 5 years old were overweight in 2008
  • One and a half billion adults 20 and older were overweight in 2008

How does GACD address the problem?

The GACD has so far established research programmes on diabetes, hypertension and lung diseases, involving more than 400 researchers from more than 30 countries. Collectively, GACD members are spending more than US$ 100 million on research in low- and middle-income countries and with vulnerable populations in high-income countries. GACD funded research aims to contribute to the area of implementation science and address the significant knowledge gap between interventions that research has shown to be effective, and their delivery to communities and translation into practice.

Tabacco use, physical inactivity, unhealthy diet and the harmful use of alcohol are rock factors for chronic diseases.
Chronic disease risk factors

NCDs are the leading cause of death globally

Out of the world's 56 million deaths in 2012, NCDs were responsible for 38 million.
Share this page